The Landlocked Sailor is ALIVE!!!

I finally got up the nerve to open up my Etsy store: thelandlockedsailor.etsy.com

I’ve been putting it off for so many (imagined) reasons: I’m not that skilled; I don’t know much about business/sales; Nobody makes money doing what they love; I have to build up a HUGE inventory first; What if no one likes my designs? What if I don’t sell anything? What if I DO sell stuff, and I get overwhelmed?

I realize that I am as afraid of success as I am of failure, if not more so. I’m SO TIRED of being afraid!

Three years ago, I was accepted to the Art Institute of Seattle, in the Media Arts and Animation program. I had terrible credit and no cosigner for student loans, and it’s not an inexpensive school! I had no idea how I could make it go. I didn’t believe in my portfolio enough to even apply for a merit-based scholarship. I quickly became overwhelmed, gave up on myself, and ran away to sea.

Now here I am in the middle of Indiana, still dreaming daily of Seattle and the sea, and going to school locally (now an Ed major). My creative urges have not gone away just because I have tried to starve them to death. I still have a million ideas every day and I believe that they deserve a chance to live and breath in the real world. So, sketchbook in hand and eyes wide open, here I go!

Whadd’ya think?

Pirates at Play

2 Responses to “The Landlocked Sailor is ALIVE!!!”


  1. 1 The Landlocked Sailor January 2, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    I licensed this photo at istockphoto.com

  2. 2 Lindsey January 2, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    Cuuuuuute! Let’s you and me get ourselves a cardboard box. 😀


Leave a Reply

