9 New Bags in 26 Hours– Can I Do It?

Two days ago, on a whim, I purchased an “Etsy Showcase” spot.

At the time, I had a vague idea of what that meant– a paid spot somewhere on Etsy, and probably showing up more often in search results, over a period of 24 hours. I randomly picked the next available 24 hour spot, which begins approximately 26 hours from now. I am not at all sure why I thought this was a good idea; I only have two, poorly photographed, mediocre items in my Etsy shop anyway.

After I made the $7 purchase, I decided to read the fine print. I looked through the site, asking myself: “What really is an Etsy Showcase?”

I found out that the Showcase will feature ten of my items (did I mention I’ve only listed two?) And… whoops! I purchased it in the “Bags and Purses” category. (Only one of my two items is a bag/purse.)

I figure I have two options: 1) “Eh, it’s only seven bucks. I’ve made bigger mistakes.” 2) “Oh my gosh I have to design and produce nine more bags to get the most out of my seven dollars and save face in front of the Etsy world!”

Well, maybe I have a third option. I’m not really motivated to try and save face. I’d much rather laugh at myself and say “Oops!” While at the same time trying to make the best of the situation. My goal is to create and list at least four more bags (for a grand total of five) before the end of the 24 hour period (that is, by the end of Wednesday, January 13th). That gives me closer to 48 hours to complete the entire project, which is a good thing, because in the time it’s taken me to write this post, half of one precious hour has flown by!

Whadd’ya think? More cotton “Market” type bags? Teeny tiny wristlets? Or should I give myself a crash course in felting? On the other hand, my current wool stash is a bit drab, maybe it is best to stick to cotton…

0 Responses to “9 New Bags in 26 Hours– Can I Do It?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

