Quitting My Day Job, Opening New Doors

I’ve been working as a preschool teacher for the past year, and I love it so much that I decided to back to school and get some credentials. So lately, my job description has been “full time student.” My major is Early Childhood Education. I’ve been able to explore different aspects of the field, and I’ve learned more than I thought possible in just a year’s time.

Then, a few months ago, I had the opportunity to work full time as a co-teacher for three months. I learned even more during that time, and I consider myself very fortunate to have been given the opportunity. However, one of the most important things that I learned from that experience is that I do not want to be a full time preschool teacher. My interests are in anti-bias education, teacher training, and family-teacher partnerships. Still, I’ve known for years, perhaps decades, that a 40-hour workweek on someone else’s schedule is just not for me.

All of this brings up the question: What am I still doing in school? I already have the education and experience to become a CDA (Child Development Associate), which is more than enough for me, and I am running a little Etsy shop that I am very excited about. If I am going to pursue my “own thing” in earnest, forcing myself to wade through these classes with no goal in sight is just a complete waste of my time.

I realize that the Etsy thing might be a long shot, and there is, of course, a chance that it won’t amount to much. But either way, a degree in Early Childhood Education is simply not pointing me in the way of my dreams.

So there you have it. Bye-bye, College!
Grab it! Open it!

3 Responses to “Quitting My Day Job, Opening New Doors”


  1. 1 Lindsey February 4, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    Yay! Good for you. I’m excited that you’ve found a path you want to take!

  2. 2 The Landlocked Sailor February 4, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    Thanks, Linds. How come I can always count on you?
    🙂


  1. 1 uberVU - social comments Trackback on February 4, 2010 at 11:37 am

Leave a Reply

