When Two Wrongs Do Make a Right

I hate throwing away yarn. In fact, I never do it. When I go through my stash and find an “Oh my goodness what was I thinking” yarn, I set it aside to donate. I might even get around to actually donating it.

But this week, I was going through my cotton yarns, and I found a whole lot of an odd brown color. My first thought was, “Yuck, What was I thinking?” Upon closer inspection, I realized that the “odd” brown really looked like seine twine, or fishing net. It could even be seaweed. Hmmm… sounds nautical. Maybe that’s what I was thinking when I bought it. On the next shelf was a big cone of variegated cream/light brown cotton with an almost pink shade to it. It just barely missed the mark of being pretty. Again, “What was I thinking?”

Then I had an idea: I wonder what these two weird yarns would look like if I worked them together? So I turned on my favorite old Clark Gable movie and went to work. Voila! I LOVE the effect! What do you think?

Two yarns worked together.

4 Responses to “When Two Wrongs Do Make a Right”


  1. 1 elaine March 25, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    Love it! Very creative. My latest blog on knitting was on “Why Not to Knit for Children Over 3”. 🙂 I’m sure you already know the answer!

  2. 3 LeeAnne March 25, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    So what r u going to make? The combo is oldly pretty! 🙂

    • 4 The Landlocked Sailor March 25, 2010 at 1:28 pm

      A handbag, I think. I am debating whether or not it will have a starfish on it. I would put starfish on everything if I could… silly me. The color isn’t exact in the photograph, but my lighting wasn’t great. What would you make out of it?


Leave a Reply

